CUNO Foundation Adds Members and Awards Grants


Two new members were added to the Distribution Committee to fill vacancies left by Libby Canavan and Larry McGoldrick's resignations.

Christopher Beale was appointed by the CBIA and Molly Savard was appointed by Bank of America, the Cuno Foundation's trustee. Other members include Kevin Curry as Chairman, Natalie Cheerman as,Vice Chairman, Kenneth Mango, John Stanton and Eliot White. Members are appointed for a seven year term. Trudy Cotton serves as Secretary.

$53,000 in grants were made to seven non-profit organizations. The Meriden Historical Society received a $15,000 grant to update their technology and the Boys and Girls Club received a $15,000 grant to improve and equip the pool area at Camp Cuno. Other grants were made to the Ed Walsh Little League to purchase a scoreboard; the CT State Police Academy Alumni Association Museum and Education Center to purchase a high speed, high capacity computer system for the museum; the Augusta Curtis Cultural Center for family programming and to the Franciscan Life Center and the Meriden-Wallingford Summer Campership programs for summer camperships.

The Cuno Foundation is again accepting grant applications for public, charitable or educational purposes. Grants are usually made for specific, tangible items or capital expense requests that directly benefit the recipient. The Cuno Foundation does not grant funds for salaries. Applications are reviewed three times a year. The next deadline date to submit an application is Sept. 15. Awards will be announced in October.

Originally published in Record-Journal (Meriden, CT)

Two Local Boys in Soap Box Derby
next »